Thoughts On My Heart

Another Blessed Year


Today is my birthday. I usually don’t celebrate my birthday. Honestly, it’s been years since anyone in my family celebrated my birthday or anyone’s for that matter. Somewhere along the line, birthdays became more of a burden than a blessing. That is not what I want for myself or for my son. I want memories. 

Just a few short years ago, four to be exact, I died. Yes, you read that correct. I had died during child birth. Stopped breathing. Long story short, I survived and what would follow would be a few years of figuring out who I am. 

Who am I? I am a mother. I am a Christian. I am a hopeless romantic. I am grateful. I am honest. I am humble. I walk in Faith. I am always hopeful. 

So as I embark on another birthday, I am hopeful. I want to make the memories with my son, like those I’ve always wished for. I will not say, “oh it’s just another day” anymore. It’s the day I was born. I’m worth something! I have been thorough so much that should have destroyed me and I survived. I am worthy!!! I’m alive and life, mine and yours, should be celebrated. 

The past two years have honestly been the best birthdays of my life. Last year, even though briefly, I spent it with someone unexpected and who made the biggest impact of my life. Today, this year, I spent it with my best friend of 30+ years and like a sister to me. Another soul who has made the biggest impact of my life. 

My overall message, make sure you take the time on your birthday to truly celebrate you! Surround yourself with people who raise you up, who help your soul feel happy. Make memories. Be thankful! You never know what will happen tomorrow, so be happy and thankful now. 

I’ve been very blessed, especially this past year. I have faith that the best is yet to come. I have faith in those who have helped me get to this point of happiness in my life and I thank them for showing me the way. It’s been another blessed year and I am grateful. God bless. 

Leave a Reply

